2021 Dove Award Nominees Announced

The small award show that began 52 years ago to honor excellence in southern gospel music has grown into a celebration of the wide range of genres in Christian music today. Entertainers from gospel and pop to rap and hip hop gather together to enjoy live performances and acknowledge the sacrifice and talent that goes into creating music that honors God. Through the years, legend Steven Curtis Chapman has received the most doves, winning 59 of the statues since receiving his first in 1989.

The award show is excited to return live and in person this year to Allen Arena in Nashville, TN. The theme for the October 19th show will be “Stronger Together”. If you’re unable to make it to Nashville to see your favorite artists in person, you will be able to watch the award show on TBN on October 22.

This year’s nominees were announced this morning and here are a few of the creatives that could be bringing home a descending dove statue this year. Who would you choose to win?

52nd Dove Award Nominees 2021


Song of the Year

Another In The Fire
(Writers) Chris Davenport, Joel Houston, (Publishers) Hillsong MP Songs, Hillsong Music Publishing Australia

Famous For (I Believe)
(Writers) Alexis Slifer, Chuck Butler, Jordan Sapp, Krissy Nordhoff, Tauren Wells, (Publishers) All Essential Music, Be Essential Songs, Buddybabe Music, Capitol CMG Paragon, Crucial Music Entertainment, Integrity’s Praise! Music, Jord A Lil Music, Nordained Music, Songs By JSapp

Graves Into Gardens
(Writers) Steven Furtick, Chris Brown, Tiffany Hudson, Brandon Lake, (Publishers) Bethel Music Publishing, Brandon Lake Music, Maverick City Publishing Worldwide, Music by Elevation Worship Publishing

Speak To Me
(Writers) Donnie McClurkin, Jeremy Hicks, Johnta Austin, Troy Taylor, (Publishers) Don Mac Music, Naked Under My Clothes Music, Peermusic III Ltd, Savgos Music Inc, Sony/Atv Tunes Llc, W S Music

Thank You For It All
(Writers) Aaron Lindsey, Christopher Thomas Leach, Jamone Davis, Marvin Sapp, (Publishers) Capitol Cmg Paragon, Five Lions Publishing, Jarmone Hoox Davis Publishing, Marvin L. Sapp Music, Universal Music Brentwood Benson Songs

The Blessing
(Writers) Chris Brown, Cody Carnes, Kari Jobe, Steven Furtick, (Publishers) Capitol CMG Paragon, Kari Jobe Carnes Music, Music by Elevation Worship Publishing, Worship Together Music, Writer’s Roof Publishing

The Father’s House
(Writers) Benjamin Hastings, Cory Asbury, Ethan Hulse, (Publishers) Be Essential Songs, Bethel Music Publishing, Cory Asbury Publishing, EGH Music Publishing, SHOUT! Music Publishing Australia

There Was Jesus
(Writers) Jonathan Smith, Casey Beathard, Zach Williams, (Publishers) Anthems of Hope, Be Essential Songs, Cashagamble Jet Music, Little Louder Songs, Seven Ring Circus Songs, Wisteria Drive

(Writers) Joel Smallbone, Josh Kerr, Kirk Franklin, Luke Smallbone, Ran Jackson, Ricky Jackson, (Publishers) Curb Dayspring Music, Curb Word Music, Heavenly Junkie Music, Kilns Music, Method to the Madness, Richmond Park Publishing, Shankel Songs, Shaun Shankel Pub Designee, Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp., WC Music Corp.

Truth Be Told
(Writers) AJ Pruis, Matthew West (Publishers) Combustion Five, Get Ur Seek On, Highly Combustible Music, Two Story House Music


Songwriter of the Year (Artist)

Brandon Lake

Chris Brown

Ed Cash

Kirk Franklin

Matthew West

Ethan Hulse

Jason Ingram

Jordan Sapp

Steven Furtick

Tiffany Hammer


Contemporary Christian Artist of the Year


Hillsong UNITED

Tauren Wells

We The Kingdom

Zach Williams


Southern Gospel Artist of the Year

Ernie Haase & Signature Sound

Gaither Vocal Band

Jason Crabb

Joseph Habedank

Triumphant Quartet


Gospel Artist of the Year

Jonathan McReynolds

Kirk Franklin

Tasha Cobbs Leonard

Travis Greene


Artist of the Year

Elevation Worship


Lauren Daigle

Phil Wickham

Zach Williams


New Artist of the Year

Brandon Lake


Dante Bowe

Hope Darst

Maverick City Music


Producer of the Year

AyRon Lewis

The Creak Music (David Leonard, Brad King, Seth Talley)

Jordan Mohilowski

Jordan Sapp

Wayne Haun


Rap/Hip Hop Recorded Song of the Year

KB -10K

Lecrae- Deep End

Steven Malcolm, ft. Childish Major & Taylor Hill – Glory On Me

Social Club Misfits – Is That Okay?

Hulvey, ft. Lecrae, SVRCINA – Reasons


Rock/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year

Brandon Lake – I Need A Ghost

Jon Foreman, ft. Lauren Daigle – Place Called Earth

Zach Williams – Stand My Ground

Skillet – This Is the Kingdom



Pop/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year

Tauren Wells – Famous For (I Believe)

Crowder – Good God Almighty

Lauren Daigle – Hold On To Me

Zach Williams, ft. Dolly Parton – There Was Jesus

for KING & COUNTRY, ft. Kirk Franklin & Tori Kelly – TOGETHER


Inspirational Recorded Song of the Year

FAITHFUL, Ellie Holcomb & Amy Grant – A Woman

Harry Connick, Jr. -Alone With My Faith

Carrie Underwood, ft. Cece Winans – Great Is Thy Faithfulness

Hope Darst – Promise Keeper

Phillips, Craig & Dean – There Is a God


Southern Gospel Recorded Song of the Year

The Sound – First Church of Mercy

Gaither Vocal Band – I Just Feel Like Something Good Is About to Happen

Crabb Family – My King is Known By Love

Joseph Habedank – Religion Isn’t Working

Ernie Haase & Signature Sound – Wake Up


Bluegrass/Country/Roots Recorded Song of the Year

Harry Connick, Jr. – Because He Lives

Browns – Better Off There

Fortune/Walker/Rogers/Isaacs – Go Rest High on That Mountain

The Sound – Great God Almighty

Nelons – If God Pulled Back the Curtain


Contemporary Gospel Recorded Song of the Year

Pastor Mike Jr. – I Got It

Dante Bowe – joyful

CeCe Winans – Never Lost

Koryn Hawthorne – Speak To Me

Tamela Mann – Touch from You


Traditional Gospel Recorded Song of the Year

Jekalyn Carr – Changing Your Story

Anthony Brown & group therAPy – Help

Maranda Curtis – I Made It

PJ Morton, ft. J Moss – Repay You

Melvin Crispel III – Wonderful Is Your Name


Gospel Worship Recorded Song of the Year

CeCe Winans – Believe For It – Travis Greene, ft. Steffany Gretzinger

Travis Greene, ft. Steffany Gretzinger – Good & Loved

Rich Tolbert Jr. – Never Be Defeated

Dante Bowe, ft. Steffany Gretzinger, Chandler Moore – Voice of God

Jonathan Traylor – You Get The Glory


Worship Recorded Song of the Year

Phil Wickham – Battle Belongs

We The Kingdom – God So Loved

Elevation Worship, ft. Brandon Lake – Graves Into Gardens

Elevation Worship / Maverick City Music, ft. Chandler Moore & Naomi Raine – Jireh

Hope Darst – Peace Be Still


Rap/Hip Hop Album of the Year

Zauntee – 1970-01-01 03:34:00

Social Club Misfits – Feared By Hell

KB – His Glory Alone

Lecrae – Restoration

Ty Brasel – The Divine Storm


Rock/Contemporary Album of the Year

Jon Foreman – Departures


Demon Hunter – Songs Of Death And Resurrection

Citizens – The Joy Of Being

Fit For A King – The Path


Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year

Chris Tomlin – Chris Tomlin & Friends

We The Kingdom – Holy Water

MercyMe – inhale (exhale)

Natalie Grant – No Stranger

Cory Asbury – To Love A Fool


If you can’t wait until October to see a great Dove Award Performance, check out We The Kingdom perform at the 2020 Dove Awards.

You Can’t Help but Dance to We The Kingdom’s Performance of Holy Water at the Dove Awards


Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
00:00 / 00:00
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x